**Date Distributed:** 



# NATIONAL BOARD INSPECTION CODE COMMITTEE

## **EXECUTIVE SESSION MINUTES**

Meeting of July 14<sup>th</sup>, 2022 Indianapolis, IN

These minutes are subject to approval and are for committee use only. They are not to be duplicated or quoted for other than committee use.

The National Board of Boiler & Pressure Vessel Inspectors 1055 Crupper Avenue Columbus, Ohio 43229-1183 Phone: (614)888-8320

FAX: (614)847-1828

#### 1. Call to Order

The Main Committee Chair, Mr. George Galanes, called the meeting to order at 8:00am local time.

## 2. Introduction of Members

Mr. Galanes asked those in the room to introduce themselves, followed by a roll call for those participating on Zoom. The following members were present for the meeting:

- Mr. George Galanes, Chair
- Ms. Melissa Wadkinson, Vice Chair
- Mr. Jonathan Ellis, Secretary
- Mr. Jim Getter
- Mr. Milton Washington
- Mr. Venus Newton
- Ms. Marianne Brodeur
- Mr. Matt Sansone
- Mr. Bob Wielgoszinski
- Mr. Trevor Seime
- Mr. Tim Simmons
- Mr. Donnie LeSage
- Mr. Eddie Wiggins (Zoom)
- Mr. Craig Hopkins (Zoom)
- Mr. Marty Toth (Zoom)
- Mr. Brian Morelock (Zoom)
- Mr. Mike Richards (Zoom)

In addition to committee membership, several National Board staff members were present as visitors: Mr. Luis Ponce, Mr. Gary Scribner, Mr. Tom Beirne, Mr. Terry Hellman, Ms. Jodi Metzmaier, Ms. Wendy White, Ms. Michelle Vance, and Mr. Mark Clemens. The Chair of the Board of Trustees, Mr. Rob Troutt, was also present.

#### 3. Check for a Quorum

With 16 of the 19 voting members present for the meeting, a quorum was established.

#### 4. Announcements

Mr. Scribner announced the lunch time and location for the day's meetings.

## 5. Adoption of the Agenda

Prior to adopting the agenda, Mr. Galanes proposed the following additions:

- Add Mr. Mike Quisenberry for Main Committee membership consideration.
- Remove Mr. Randy Austin from the list of reappointments, as he is retiring from committee work.
- Add Mr. Patrick Polick for Subcommittee Inspection membership consideration.
- Add Mr. Eben Creaser and Mr. David Sullivan for Subcommittee PRD membership consideration.
- Remove Mr. Bob Underwood from the list of TG Historical reappointments.

A motion was made, seconded, and unanimously approved to adopt the agenda with these revisions.

## 6. Approval of the Minutes from the January 2022 Meeting

The minutes can be found and reviewed on the National Board's website, on Committee Information page under the Inspection Code tab.

A motion was made, seconded, and unanimously approved to accept the minutes from the January 2022 NBIC meeting.

#### 7. Review of Rosters

Note that all the following membership appointment and reappointments will be forwarded to the Chair of the Board of Trustees for final approval. After that step is completed, notifications of appointment and reappointment will be sent out.

## a. Membership Nominations

## **Task Group Historical:**

• Mr. Mike Carlson (Jurisdictional Authorities) – a motion was made, seconded, and unanimously approved to nominate Mr. Carlson for membership on TG Historical.

#### **Task Group Graphite:**

• Mr. Sam Mehrez (Users) – a motion was made, seconded, and unanimously approved to nominate Mr. Mehrez for membership on TG Graphite.

## **Subcommittee Inspection:**

• Patrick Polick (Jurisdictional Authorities) – a motion was made, seconded, and unanimously approved to nominate Mr. Polick for membership on SC Inspection.

#### **Subcommittee PRD:**

 Mr. Eben Creaser (Jurisdictional Authorities) and Mr. David Sullivan (Jurisdictional Authorities) – a motion was made, seconded, and unanimously approved to nominate Mr. Creaser and Mr. Sullivan for membership on SC PRD.

#### **Subcommittee R&A:**

• Mr. Philip Gilston (Authorized Inspection Agencies) – a motion was made, seconded, and unanimously approved to nominate Mr. Gilston for membership on SC R&A.

#### **Main Committee:**

- Mr. Robert Underwood (AIA)
- Mr. Timothy Barker (AIA)
- Ms. Kathy Moore (NB Certificate Holders)
- Mr. Tim McBee (AIA)
- Mr. Ben Schaefer (NB Certificate Holders)

- Mr. Brent Ray (Users)
- Mike Quisenberry (NB Certificate Holders)

Before having the Committee vote on each candidate, Mr. Galanes had them give a brief introduction and speak on why they would be a good candidate for Main Committee membership. After they spoke, Mr. Galanes asked them to leave the room while the Committee discussed the candidates. After discussion, a weighted ballot for the AIA and NB Certificate Holder interest categories was cast to select two AIA candidates and two NB Certificate Holder candidates. The votes for each ballot were tallied by Mr. Ponce and Mr. Ellis, and it was announced that Mr. Underwood, Mr. Barker, Ms. Moore, and Mr. Schaefer were selected for nomination to Main Committee. Mr. Ray was unanimously selected for nomination, as he was the only User applying for a position on the Committee.

#### b. Membership Reappointments

The following subcommittee and Main Committee memberships are scheduled to end prior to the January 2023 NBIC meetings:

- **Task Group Historical** Mr. David Rose
- Task Group FRP Mr. Bernie Shelley, Mr. Francis Brown, Mr. Juan Bustillos, Mr. Terry Cowley, Mr. Doug Eisberg, Mr. Michael Gorman, and Ms. Debra McCauley.
- Task Group Graphite Mr. Aaron Viet, Mr. Greg Becherer, Mr. Francis Brown, Mr. Justin Clements, and Mr. Andy Stupica.
- **Subcommittee Installation** –Mr. Matt Downs.
- **Subcommittee Inspection** Mr. David Buechel, Mr. James Clark, Mr. Venus Newton, and Mr. David Rose
- Subcommittee R&A Ms. Pat Becker, Mr. Tim McBee, Mr. Ray Miletti, Mr. Michael Quisenberry, Mr. Paul Shanks, and Mr. John Siefert
- Main Committee Ms. Marianne Brodeur, Mr. Craig Hopkins, Mr. Michael Richards, and Mr. Marty Toth

All the reappointments listed above were unanimously approved by the Main Committee.

#### c. Officer Positions

• TG FRP – At their April 2022 meeting, the current Chair of FRP, Mr. Bernie Shelley, announced he would be stepping down from the position. Ms. Debra McCauley was nominated by the group to become the new Chair.

• SC PRD – Subcommittee PRD has nominated Mr. Adam Renaldo for the position of Vice Chair.

The Main Committee unanimously approved the officer nominations listed above.

## 8. Adjournment

The Main Committee executive session was adjourned at 8:56am local time.

Respectfully submitted,

Jonathan Ellis

Jonathan Ellis

**NBIC Secretary**