2010 Technical Scholarship Winners

Tyler Erikson and Kristin Smith Recipients of 2010 Technical Scholarship

Mr. Tyler Erikson of Williamsburg, Virginia, and Ms. Kristin Smith of Fallston, Maryland, have been named recipients of National Board’s 2010 Technical Scholarship. Both students will receive $6,000 toward their collegiate education.
Mr. Erikson is a sophomore at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University in Blacksburg, Virginia. He is pursuing degrees in mechanical engineering and engineering science and mechanics with a minor in math. He carries a grade point average of 3.7. His career goals include becoming chief engineer of a leading automotive manufacturer and overseeing his own platform of vehicles.
Mr. Erikson is the son of National Board Commissioned Inspector Ronald Erikson.
Ms. Smith is a junior at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in Troy, New York. She carries a 3.47 grade point average and is pursuing a bachelor’s degree in nuclear engineering and a master’s in management with a concentration in nuclear power plant management. Her career goals include research in the development of nuclear power plants that produce less radioactive waste and working in power plant management.
Ms. Smith is the daughter of National Board Commissioned Inspector Steven Smith.

Congratulations to both recipients.
The next application period begins September 1, 2011, and continues through February 29, 2012.