General Meeting News

Members' Meeting News

On Tuesday, May 8, at the National Board Members’ Meeting in Dallas, Texas, National Board members voted to fill open positions on the National Board’s Board of Trustees. The results: Donald Cook, chief of California, was reelected second vice chairman and Tony Oda, chief of Washington, was reelected member at large.

In addition, four National Board members were honored with service awards: Don Cook, state of California, 15 years; Edward Hilton, commonwealth of Virginia, 10 years; Robby Troutt, state of Texas, 5 years; and Michael Adams, province of Ontario, 5 years.


Safety Medal Recipient

Richard L. Allison was presented the 2018 National Board Safety Medal award at the Opening Session of the 87th National Board/ASME General Meeting on May 7. The award acknowledges Mr. Allison’s decades-long service to public safety and involvement in the boiler and pressure vessel industry.

Mr. Allison began his 50-year career in the industry with Babcock and Wilcox. He became a member of the National Board Inspection Code Committee and was later elected chairman. He also served 10 years as a member of the National Board Advisory Committee. For 22 years, he served as the assistant executive director - administrative, for the National Board.

National Board Chairman, Joel Amato (left) and National Board Executive
Director, David Douin (right) present Mr. Allison with the Safety Medal.