ASME Awards National Board

National Board Executive Director David Douin (third from left) is presented the ASME Deidicated Service Award (DSA) by ASME members (L-R) Thomas Loughlin, Ken Balkey, Madiha Kotb, Bernie Hrubala, and Rick Swayne.

David Douin, National Board Receive ASME Awards
Kenneth Balkey of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) presented National Board Executive Director David Douin with the ASME Dedicated Service Award (DSA) during the Wednesday evening banquet at the 83rd General Meeting in Bellevue, Washington. The DSA award honors “unusual dedicated voluntary service to the Society marked by outstanding performance, demonstrated effective leadership, prolonged and committed service, devotion, enthusiasm, and faithfulness.”
Mr. Douin also accepted two other awards on behalf of The National Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessel Inspectors: the 2014 ASME President’s Award and the ASME Founder's Award. The awards were presented at ASME’s Leaders and Legends Luncheon on Tuesday, May 13.
“It has truly been a pleasure working with ASME, and it was an honor to accept these recognitions on behalf of the National Board,” said Mr. Douin. “I work with a great team – my staff, Board of Trustees, Advisory Board, and membership – and we all appreciate the significance and importance of our longstanding relationship with ASME.”
The President’s Award is granted to those who have demonstrated significant contributions to the engineering profession. The Founder’s Award is a special commemorative award in recognition of a century of commitment to public safety, the ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code, and associated conformity assessment programs. The Founder’s Award was also presented to The Babcock & Wilcox Company and Hartford Steam Boiler.

ASME President Madiha Kotb presents the 2014 ASME President's Award to National Board Executive Director David Douin, who accepted on behalf of the National Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessel Inspectors