General Meeting News

National Board Election Results and Member Recognitions

It was a busy week for National Board members at the 85th General Meeting. The Board of Trustees voted in two new members; member elections resulted in new representatives on the Board of Trustees; and two former members were acknowledged for their service to the National Board.

Election Results

National Board members voted to fill seats on the Board of Trustees at the Members’ Meeting on Tuesday, May 10, in Kissimmee, Florida.

Joel Amato, Minnesota, was reelected first vice chairman. He will serve a three-year term expiring May 2019. Eben Creaser, New Brunswick, was elected member at large for a three-year term also expiring May 2019. Tony Oda, Washington, was elected member at large to complete the unexpired term of Ken Watson. Mr. Oda’s term will expire May 2018.

New Members Elected

At the Board of Trustees meeting on Saturday, May 7, two new members were approved. Marvin Byrum will represent the state of Alabama, and David Sandfoss will represent the state of Nevada.

Safety Medal Recipient

National Board Executive Director David Douin and National Board Chairman John Burpee presented former Quebec member Madiha El Mehelmy Kotb the prestigious Safety Medal Award at the Opening Session of the General Meeting on May 9. The award acknowledges Kotb’s decades-long service to public safety and involvement in the boiler and pressure vessel industry.

Mr. Douin (left) and Mr. Burpee (right) present Ms. Kotb with Safety Medal.

Honorary Member

Ken Lau, former National Board member representing Alberta, Canada, was presented his honorary member plaque and pin at the Tuesday Members’ Meeting. The members elected Dr. Lau as an honorary member at the October 2015 Members’ Meeting.

Mr. Douin (left) and Mr. Burpee (right) present Dr. Lau with plaque.