National Board Membership Awards


Membership Service Awards

Two five-year membership awards were acknowledged at the May Members’ Meeting in Scottsdale, Arizona.

William Anderson, Mississippi, and Aziz Khssassi, Regie Du Batiment Du Quebec, were recognized by National Board Executive Director Joel Amato.

Current National Board members are eligible to receive an award upon completion of five years as a member and at the end of every five years thereafter.


Honorary Membership

Randall Austin and the late Donald Cook were recognized as National Board Honorary Members.

Austin is the only chief inspector in the history of the National Board to oversee two jurisdictions at the same time – the states of Colorado and Arizona.

He worked as a boiler inspector for the state of Colorado for more than 22 years prior to being elected to National Board membership in 2002. Austin retired from the state of Arizona in 2018 and currently oversees the Federal Inspection Agency (FIA) and R stamp programs at Los Alamos National Laboratory.

Prior to joining the state of Colorado, Austin served in the US Navy as a boiler technician from 1975 to 1980. He also served in the Naval Reserve and in the Colorado Army National Guard.

Austin serves an ASME and National Board Joint Review Team Leader and is a member of several committees, including NBIC Main Committee, the ASME Conference Committee, and ASME CSD-1 (Controls and Safety Devices for Automatically Fired Boilers).

Austin was elected an honorary member at the October 7, 2019, Board of Trustees meeting but his recognition was delayed due to the cancelation of the 2020 General Meeting.

Cook passed away November 4, 2019, at the age of 59.

Former California principal safety engineer and a longtime National Board member, Cook was elected an honorary member at the October 5, 2020 BOT meeting. His wife Diana and daughter Olivia accepted the award on his behalf.

A graduate of Cal Poly San Luis Obispo with a degree in mechanical engineering, Cook joined the state of California in 1989. In 2003, he was named the state’s principal safety engineer and was elected to National Board membership.

Cook managed one of the largest National Board jurisdictions in North America and served on several committees throughout his career, including 15 years on National Board Inspection Code committees, and six years as chairman of the NBIC Main Committee, from 2012-2018.

In 2016, he was elected to the Board of Trustees as second vice chairman.

(L-R) NBBI Executive Director, Joel Amato, Chairman, NBBI Board of Trustees, Chris Cantrell,
Randall Austin, and NBBI Assistant Executive Director-Technical, Gary Scribner

(L-R) NBBI Executive Director, Joel Amato, Chairman, NBBI Board of Trustees, Chris Cantrell,
Olivia Cook, and Diana Cook